Tags

, , ,

I thought it might be nice to post some photos of all of the bounty of October at the Borough Market.  Every time I enter the market, I am overwhelmed by the sights, smells, and lovely ideas of what I might make with all that is available.

305

Figs! Beautiful figs. I have been meaning to recreate a dish of bacon wrapped figs I had with some good friends at Abigail in Hermosa Beach (although it is no longer on their exquisite menu). If ever in Hermosa Beach, I highly recommend Abigaile.  The food was amazing, the atmosphere was great, and the service was impeccable.

308309

Seasonal colors of gourds, squash, roots, and stems. And decadent bites of apricots and sugared sweets. 303310306312

….and Cheese! Glorious Cheese! Huge wheels of aged Comte. I purchased a small wedge, some ‘Big Jesus’ sausage, and 1/4 a loaf of French countryside bread. We brought our good home, paired the lovely flavors of fresh, quality ingredients with a deep Cabernet. Perfect. 315

