The Grand Hotel Roi René is a MGallery property, so I was thrilled when I found out that was where I would be staying.  I was excited to use my Accor Hotels Platinum status for the first time.  I took advantage of an offer back in January, but this is the first occasion I will have to use it.

Platinum status is Accor Hotel’s top-level and comes after 60 nights or 25,000 points.  The status awards double points on each stay.  In Sofitel, Pullman and MGallery hotels comes with room upgrades (on request and subject to availability), late check out at 16:00, and a complimentary drink and welcome gift.  At Sofitel Thalassa Sea and Spa hotels you can even get a free Thalassa Sea and Spa Institute beauty product and treatment.

Because this is my first stay at an Accor property, I do not yet have a Le Club card.  So I emailed the hotel in advance with my card number and had them add it to the reservation.  No problem.

When I arrived, I was checked-in by the conference organizer.  Being grateful to attend such a wonderful event, the last thing I wanted to do was offend my host by asking for an upgrade at check-in (and Accor requires that you request your premium upgrade).  I was prepared to do so, having practiced a few phrases like “Suis-je admissible à niveau ma chambre pour une suite aujourd’hui?” in advance. Taking some good advice, I was ready to embrace the idea that self-consciousness kills communication.

Anyway, I checked-in as usual and went up to my room to put down my things and freshen up before strolling the city. The room was very nice, although the light switches were awkward to use. Perhaps the most lovely part was that the bathroom was stocked with Roger & Gallet bath products. Yes!

When I came downstairs, I double checked my Club number was associated with my reservation.  The staff at the desk were incredibly accommodating – not only humoring me with patience when I was attempting to speak French but seamlessly transitioning between French and English.  The receptionist checked my reservation and gave me vouchers for free cocktails.  I only wish I would have remembered to snap a shot of the beautiful, local rose champagne I drank!

